Just exactly what do I think I am doing?

6 Dec

When I was seven, I wanted to know everything.

Like, literally.

Read all the books, that type of thing.

What’s more, I thought it was actually possible to achieve this.

It may shock you to discover that I have not figured everything out. But I have not entirely abandoned my childhood goal, either. I did discover that it’s possible to learn a lot about a subject, despite realizing that you can pick as narrow a subject as you like and you’ll never reach the bottom.

So, while we may have a long way to go toward a full understanding of our world, I think there’s great value in following such a quest. When enough of us participate in lifelong journeys after ideas, we can make real contributions to the pool of human knowledge.

Maybe that is cliche, and maybe no one will read this blog; fortunately for you residents of Readertown who’ve come here, I don’t care.

And I really can’t be stopped when it comes to something that interests me. Those who know me could confirm that it’s tough to get me to stop talking about plants once I begin, especially if you’ve gone and invited me to do it. That said, this blog will hopefully be more than the usual talk talk talk on a subject. Because I’m currently a forestry student, my main goal is to chronicle my learning process with the added hope that some of you can learn with me and that this might spark some discussion.

I’m only a year into my education, so I’m not sure where this will lead — beyond a lot of reading on the broad subjects of forestry and botany. I’ll be sharing a lot of what I read here and I’ll try to keep useful tags so you can ignore what doesn’t interest you.

So, I suppose this is the part where everybody straps in, because, um… trees!!

4 Responses to “Just exactly what do I think I am doing?”

  1. Evan Milton December 19, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    Looking forward to it.

  2. xylem_up December 19, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Excellent! I will hopefully have another post up soon.

  3. Antonio Carlos Teixeira December 26, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Hello, Xylem Up! I’m environmental journalist and I live in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, land of the next Rio+20 UN Conference (June, 20-22 2012). Nice blog you have. Let’s keep touch! Antonio Carlos Teixeira

    • xylem_up December 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Sounds great! You’ve got a great blog that I enjoy reading. I hope mine will be interesting while it’s getting off the ground.

Leave a Reply

loggersdaughter

Just another WordPress.com site

La Jicarita

An Online Magazine of Environmental Politics in New Mexico

AgStudy

U.S. Graduate School Opportunities in Agriculture

Subalpine Forest Ecology: Aaron Rhodes

Subalpine Forest Ecology @aaronrhodesc

Wood on Fire - Topics of Lumber Industry

Economics for Lumber Industry

Logger's Daughter (metsurin tytär)

Finland forestry and agriculture: an exchange student's lessons in language and culture.

The Green Thumb 2.0

A mix of botany, gardening and photography

Africa is a Country

a site of media criticism, analysis and new writing

biologycuratorialtrainee.wordpress.com/

RUSSELL DORNAN | museums | digital | natural history | photography

Midwest Naturalist

Living in harmony with our creator, his creation and all living things.

