“Practical Forestry in the Pacific Northwest”: Questions

27 Dec
Lodgepole Pines

Lodgepole pine image by gharness via Flickr

I thought I might post a few brief questions since this blog has  lots to do with sharing my learning process. [Update: I’ve discovered some answers since publication, and they’re at the end of this post.] And since I sometimes have so many feelings on a book that I end up writing a novel in place of a review.

While I hope to impress you all with what good questions I have, I am a student, and therefore sure to expose my pitiful lack of knowledge on many subjects! Feel free to chime in down in the comments if you want to share your insights or sources for information. I have not even attempted to research these questions yet, so I may post updates as I discover my own answers; we’ll see how it goes.

So here are the things touched off by reviewing Edward T. Allen’s book:

Updates: Looks like white pine blister rust came to the West Coast from Asia in 1910, only a few years after Allen published this book. That’s pretty tragic, considering that no white pine is safe from it, it has a very high mortality rate, and before its introduction, maintaining stands of white pine seems to have been relatively simple and straightforward.

Secondly, the deal with the scientific name of lodgepole pine is that there are four recognized subspecies or varieties. Pinus contorta is the name I learned for it in school, but Allen uses Pinus murrayana; nowadays, P. contorta var. murrayana is the Sierra lodgepole variety.

Last of all, it turns out both Russian (white) mulberry and Osage orange have the potential to become invasive. So you may want to consider NOT planting them as windbreaks.

I still haven’t had a chance to fully review the literature on my tax reform question, but I know that Allen’s fervent call for taxation of forest lands upon harvest was answered. My understanding is that it was answered a bit late, considering that this was written around the turn of the last century and the changes came sometime after the 1950s.

The hickory questions remain a mystery.

5 Responses to ““Practical Forestry in the Pacific Northwest”: Questions”

  1. Ronny Ernst January 15, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    Hi, I love your blog. Is there something I can do to obtain updates like a subscription or some thing? I’m sorry I am not acquainted with RSS? http://www.ctctradeshows.com

    • xylem_up January 15, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

      You can join by e-mail using the link near the top right of the page, and it will send an e-mail when I publish a new post.

  2. Miranda Dolby February 12, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Thanks for the post.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bitternut Pecan | Landscaping - Gardening - February 1, 2012

    […] Hickory WoodArbor Day Tree Care & Landscape Design BlogArbor Day 2012Valley Hill — 2002Today were smoking with Hickory and Pecan“Practical Forestry in the Pacific Northwest”: Questions […]

  2. Pignut Hickory | Landscaping - Gardening - July 12, 2012

    […] Necedah National Wildlife Refuge 2Windows on Wildlife: Red SquirrelJasper’s Story: Part 6Wild Edible Plants: Butternut (Juglans Cinerea)Texas Crape MyrtlesBeautiful Gardens, Native PlantingsSpanish MossGrow more good food with edible landscaping“Practical Forestry in the Pacific Northwest”: Questions […]

Leave a Reply

loggersdaughter

Just another WordPress.com site

La Jicarita

An Online Magazine of Environmental Politics in New Mexico

AgStudy

U.S. Graduate School Opportunities in Agriculture

Subalpine Forest Ecology: Aaron Rhodes

Subalpine Forest Ecology @aaronrhodesc

Wood on Fire - Topics of Lumber Industry

Economics for Lumber Industry

Logger's Daughter (metsurin tytär)

Finland forestry and agriculture: an exchange student's lessons in language and culture.

The Green Thumb 2.0

A mix of botany, gardening and photography

Africa is a Country

a site of media criticism, analysis and new writing

biologycuratorialtrainee.wordpress.com/

RUSSELL DORNAN | museums | digital | natural history | photography

Midwest Naturalist

Living in harmony with our creator, his creation and all living things.

