Welcome, 2012!

1 Jan
Dragon water

Water dragon image via Wikipedia

As we prepare to usher in the new Year of the Water Dragon, I wanted to tell you guys what I have up my sleeve for this blog, and ask for your input, too.

You can expect more book reviews, notes/questions on readings, and periodic updates on what I’m doing with school and our SAF student chapter. In addition, I want to do some current issues roundup type posts that collect relevant news stories and link to great articles I find. I’ve also got plans to interview some of the authors of the books I review for extra insight and possibly a sort of virtual mentoring vibe. Finally, I want to do some photo-heavy species profiles with info about identifying certain plants and what makes them special and/or important.

And as promised, I want to open it up to input from all of you. When you initially subscribed or clicked on the link to this blog, what did you hope to see? What would you like to learn? Leave me a comment and let me know, and I’ll do my best to incorporate any suggestions!

Here’s hoping this year is great for us all.

6 Responses to “Welcome, 2012!”

  1. James D. January 2, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    I think the news round-up would be a great way for people to quickly understand what’s going on with forestry and politics. I’m sure there’s a lot happening that people aren’t aware of, and many people don’t know how to find out or where to look even if they want to know.

    • xylem_up January 2, 2012 at 5:31 am #

      That gives me an idea, too — maybe I will add a brief explanation of my methods for finding this stuff.

  2. Pamala Mckirryher January 9, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

    • xylem_up January 15, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

      There is a contact link at the top right corner of the page, in fairly large text. It should be pretty easy to find, I hope. Feel free to suggest things via comments, too — I’d be happy to hear it.

  3. somanabolic muscle maximizer review January 14, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

    • xylem_up January 15, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

      It would seem it’s just you. It may be a browser problem?

Leave a Reply

loggersdaughter

Just another WordPress.com site

La Jicarita

An Online Magazine of Environmental Politics in New Mexico

AgStudy

U.S. Graduate School Opportunities in Agriculture

Subalpine Forest Ecology: Aaron Rhodes

Subalpine Forest Ecology @aaronrhodesc

Wood on Fire - Topics of Lumber Industry

Economics for Lumber Industry

Logger's Daughter (metsurin tytär)

Finland forestry and agriculture: an exchange student's lessons in language and culture.

The Green Thumb 2.0

A mix of botany, gardening and photography

Africa is a Country

a site of media criticism, analysis and new writing

biologycuratorialtrainee.wordpress.com/

RUSSELL DORNAN | museums | digital | natural history | photography

Midwest Naturalist

Living in harmony with our creator, his creation and all living things.

