Why I have not been writing: Tons of awesome field work!

17 Mar

As some of you may have noticed, I’ve been absent from my duties on this blog for a couple weeks. But never fear! I have only been digging my way out from under an avalanche of term projects and exams. It will all be over Wednesday, so I figured I’d take some time to post today and show you what I’ve been up to. This also means I have not been able to prepare the interview I have in store, but judging by the response I got to my field notes post, you’ll enjoy this more, anyway!

I mentioned in a previous post that I’ve been working on various term projects. My friends might say the projects have been working on me, but that’s another post. We gave presentations for GIS and silviculture this week, with watersheds on Monday. Since my field notes post dealt entirely with our watersheds project, I’ll share that first, with elements of our GIS projects thrown in.

Here is a gallery that includes the raw field notes used in creating out final project, the finished maps we produced both by hand (by yours truly) and in GIS (by Caleb, our SAF chapter secretary), and several shots of us studying our reaches in the field. See me test for nitrates! Watch Bill dig through a kick net looking for macroinvertebrates! Marvel at the half-frozen amphibians we found running around in the middle of a blizzard!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next up is our silviculture project. There were far fewer photos and very little field data collected, at least that I have in my possession, so enjoy our final GIS-created map. I incorporate a mock-up done by the actual METRO client designing the restoration project for the whole 61-acre plot on Beaver Creek, and show the context of the much smaller plot that is the subject of our silviculture prescription. It also includes a soils map.

Not pictured: a thirty-page watershed report, a 15-page silviculture prescription, three powerpoint presentations, and my first day as a crew leader for a Friends of Trees planting. So that’s what I’ve been doing lately, other than running around like a crazy person trying to work with my officers to make something out of our SAF chapter. Our first meeting was low-key but successful, and we’ll have some full-fledged new members soon. We’re attending the state convention in Seaside next month, and planning some job shadowing and service projects for the spring. Updates to come, I’m sure, and I predict that some may include funny photos.

2 Responses to “Why I have not been writing: Tons of awesome field work!”

  1. Ayumi March 20, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!
    http://www.smallbusinessplansoftware.net/

    • xylem_up March 23, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      I know this is a spam comment, but I approved it because I find it hilarious. I seriously doubt anyone is doing analysis on my watersheds homework. XD

Leave a Reply

loggersdaughter

Just another WordPress.com site

La Jicarita

An Online Magazine of Environmental Politics in New Mexico

AgStudy

U.S. Graduate School Opportunities in Agriculture

Subalpine Forest Ecology: Aaron Rhodes

Subalpine Forest Ecology @aaronrhodesc

Wood on Fire - Topics of Lumber Industry

Economics for Lumber Industry

Logger's Daughter (metsurin tytär)

Finland forestry and agriculture: an exchange student's lessons in language and culture.

The Green Thumb 2.0

A mix of botany, gardening and photography

Africa is a Country

a site of media criticism, analysis and new writing

biologycuratorialtrainee.wordpress.com/

RUSSELL DORNAN | museums | digital | natural history | photography

Midwest Naturalist

Living in harmony with our creator, his creation and all living things.

